Skip to main content

Named Times

With Named Times, you can define flexible windows of time when Jobs are allowed to run. The Named Time can be referenced in the Schedule for one or more Jobs to give you more control over when Jobs can run. You can also configure the Schedule to send an alert if the Job runs outside the specified window.

Names Times let you do the following:

  • Prevent Jobs from executing until their scheduled window is enabled and open.
  • Take various actions when a Job’s window closes before the Job completes. These are specified as Missed Actions.
  • Limit when manually submitted Jobs are allowed to run.
  • Prevent manual Job submissions from running during periods when other Jobs use significant system resources.

Named Time Definitions screen

The Named Time Definitions screen displays all Named Times that have been configured. Each Named Time displays the following:

  • Time Name – The name of the Named Time.
  • Enabled – The status of the Named Time. If it is enabled, the time window is open for the Schedule to use it. If the Named Time is referenced in multiple Jobs, the window is open for all of them.
  • Start Time – The starting time for the Named Time.
  • End Time – The end time for the Named Time.
  • Description – Optional. A brief description of the Named Time.

Viewing All Named Times

  1. Click Execution from the main menu.
  2. Click Named Times.
  3. Click a column header to sort the list of Named Times.

Adding a Named Time Definition

  1. Click Execution from the main menu.
  2. Click Named Times.
  3. Click Add.
  4. In the Named Time Name field, enter a name.
  5. In the Start Time field, enter the time the Named Time window will open.
  6. Select or clear the Automatically Enable checkbox to allow the Named Time to be enabled at the specified start time.
  7. In the End time field, select the time the Named Time window will close.
  8. Select or clear the Automatically Disable checkbox to allow the Named Time to be disabled at the specified end time.
  9. Click Save and Return to List.

Missed Window Actions

To understand how Jobs will behave when using a time window, review each Missed Window Action below.

  • No Action: If you manually or automatically submit a Job that has No Action selected, the Job will start based on the submitted time. If a Schedule window has been set and you manually submit the Job, a message will be displayed on the Submit dialog to display the current Schedule window time range. A No Action Job will run to completion, even if the Schedule window closes.
  • Continue: The Job does not start until the Schedule window opens and continues running to completion, even if the Schedule window closes. There is no rescheduling option.
  • Abort or Delete: The Job does not start until the Schedule window opens and is deleted or aborted if the window closes before the Job is completed.
  • Reschedule or Continue: The Job does not start until the Schedule window opens. If the Job does not start by the time the window closes, it is rescheduled for the next time the window opens. If the Job does start, this action allows the Job to continue to completion even if the window closes.
  • Restart or Reschedule: The Job does not start until the Schedule window opens. If the Job has not completed by the time the window closes, the Job is forced to abort, and is rescheduled to run the next time the window opens.

Modifying a Named Time

You can modify the properties of a Named Time, including its name, description, and start/end time. You can also set it to be automatically enabled or disabled at the designated start and end times.

  1. Click Execution from the main menu.

  2. Click Named Times.

  3. Click a Named Time and select Properties.

  4. Click the Summary tab to do the following:

    1. Change the name.
    2. Change the description.
  5. Click the Times tab to do the following:

    1. Change the start time for the time window.
    2. Automatically enable the time window.
    3. Change the end time.
    4. Automatically disable the time window.
  6. Click Save.

Deleting a Named Time

You can delete a Named Time if it is no longer being used. Before deleting a Named Time, ensure all Jobs and Folders that currently use it have been updated to remove references to it. To view where the Named Time is referenced, click the name of the Named Time and select the References tab.

  1. Click Execution from the main menu.
  2. Click Named Times.
  3. Click the Named Time and select Delete.
  4. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click Delete.

Named Time Definition Properties

The Named Time Properties are divided into three tabs.

Summary TabDescription
Named Time NameThis property is the unique identifier for the Named Time.
DescriptionThis optional property appears in menus, lists, and reports and provides a more detailed explanation for the Named Time.
Last Change UTCThis property displays the date and time when the Named Time was modified.
Times TabDescription
Start TimeEnter the time of day the Named Time is scheduled to begin.
Automatically EnableIf this checkbox is selected, JAMS automatically enables the Named Time at its specified Start Time. When this checkbox is cleared, the Named Time remains disabled until it is manually enabled.
End TimeEnter the time of day the Named Time is scheduled to end.
Automatically DisableIf this checkbox is selected, JAMS automatically disables the Named Time at its specified End Time. When this checkbox is cleared, the Named Time remains enabled until it is manually disabled.
Last Time Window was Automatically Enabled or DisabledThis property displays the last date and time when the Named Time was automatically enabled or disabled.
References TabDescription
ReferencesThe References tab lets you view where the Named Time is referenced within JAMS.